Road to the Spartan Sprint – Pt 2

Leave a comment

September 21, 2012 by mcastille9

Day one…Ok, now that I have convinced myself to do the Spartan Sprint, now comes the training.  According to the Spartan Race website, in order to complete the race in an average time (a little over an hour), I should be able to comfortably run 3 miles at a moderate pace.  At this point, I know I can’t do that so I’ll be starting from stratch.  So, I’m going to start walking the 3 miles and gradually build up speed as the days, weeks, and months progress.  My goal is to run 3 miles in a half hour (3 – 10 minute miles…6 MPH) on a treadmill.  Once I can do that, I’ll start to run on the road.  I would like to have this goal accomplished within 3 months.  I’ve also looked up some training material specific to obstacle course running which includes running hills, burpees (some, including myself, call them up/downs), and various types of calisthenics.  I plan to start off with this slow as well and gradually increase my reps until I can reach and then exceed the goals detailed in the fitness test.

So everyone can know my starting point, here is my before picture and I’ll also post my initial results so you can see the progress (next post).  Feel free to comment with your results, if you want to take on this fitness challenge with me.  The clock is officially ticking.  See you at the finish line.

Leave a Reply

BMore Committed

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

